Like many states, Kentucky—speaking in terms of automobile insurance—is a “no fault” state. Unfortunately, this information is what stops a great many people from pursuing a claim after an automobile accident. It’s the belief that “no-fault” means they have no case regardless of whether they had any fault in the wreck or not.
The truth about “no-fault” insurance is much different. When you are in an automobile accident in Kentucky (assuming you have a Kentucky policy of insurance, or your insurance carrier is admitted to sell insurance in Kentucky), then your policy likely has Personal Injury Protection benefits (or PIP for short) applicable to the claim. If you want to know if you have this benefit, the easiest way is to look at your declarations page, your bill, or simply call your carrier.
Assuming you have PIP benefits, then your insurance carrier—regardless of who caused the accident—has to make up to $10,000.00 available to be paid toward your medical treatment. Make no mistake: your insurance carrier will not write a check to you for $10,000. Your carrier will simply place a reserve amount of money into an account and issue checks to those medical providers who treat you until the money runs out or until you complete your treatment regimen.
You must first fill out an application for PIP benefits. Once the car insurance carrier receives the application, they will then reserve the account. Next, they will provide a claims handler for your case specifically for the PIP benefits. That claims handler will also provide you a PIP claim number. You will need to have this claim number with you anytime you seek medical treatment related to the wreck and provide that number to your doctor.
You may also use the PIP money for other purposes as well. It can be designated for lost wages if you so choose. However, the law establishing the PIP benefits also declares that the insurance carrier shall not provide any claimant with more then $200 per week in lost wages benefits. You should also know that every dollar you take in lost wages reduces the amount of money available for medical treatment.
There are other ways to use the PIP benefits to help yourself after a wreck, including freezing the benefits and using them to reimburse health care insurance claims that may arise from the accident. These decisions, however, can have an impact on your case. This is exactly why you should consult with a car accident attorney shortly after your wreck. Most any attorney who handles car wrecks will meet with you for free. By meeting with an attorney, you can make an informed decision about your case and move forward accordingly.
A business without a lawyer is like a house without a roof. It’s not enough to give your brand a strong foundation of adept marketing, hearty workers and steady contracts. You need to make sure that, when bad weather hits, you’re ready to shelter everything you stand for against the storm. A lawyer for business owners goes a long way in helping you get out of a sudden dispute in one piece, offering you years of knowledge in your chosen field to keep you from spending too much money or even losing all of your hard work.
The American construction industry has raked in over $1,000 billion as of 2016. Its national and worldwid
A Personal Injury Attorney Can Help With Workplace Injury
Sustaining injuries while on the job can be very scary and difficult to deal with. It has been shown that over 4,000 perso
How will your law office handle my case?Once the attorney has confirmed that you do have a legitimate case, it’s important to know what to expect as far as case management. Make sure to ask whether the attorney you’re talking to will handle your case in full, or whether certain aspects of it may be delegated to other members of the firm. You should also make it a point to find out whether or not that specific attorney handles court appearances. Ideally, you want an auto attorney who has no problem representing your case in court.
How does your law office handle finances and billing?If you make it this far into the questioning process, it’s a good sign that this may be the right auto lawyer for you. But before you make any final decisions, you want to know what to expect when it comes time to pay the bill. Make sure you know every last detail of the billing process, including whether the firm charges by the hour or has a contingency fee. You also want to be aware of any retainer fees or any other additional expenses. Because most personal injury law firms work on contingency, this is a critical question. If you will not be paying by the hour or making payments up front, make sure you understand how much communication you can expect to have about your case.
Is there anything else you’d like me to know before I make my final decision?This is a great open-ended question to ask at the end of your free consultation, as it is your attorney’s last chance to make their professional impression on you.
Can you provide any past clients or successful settlements as references?Unless you are an injury law firm’s first client, they should be able to provide some references. In addition, ask if they can direct you to any recent settlements they secured for auto accident victims such as yourself. Remember: motor vehicle crashes were the leading cause of death in 2014 for individuals who were 11-years-old and young people between the ages 16 through 24. When you or someone you love is injured or killed in an auto accident caused by another person’s negligence, drunkenness, or intentional actions, then you deserve the very best representation. Make sure you know the answers to these questions before choosing your auto attorney. It’s the best way to get the legal advice and representation your case demands.
It doesn’t matter what state you live in. If you are arrested for the possession of narcotics, you’re in serious trouble. However, while drug crime laws vary from state to state, Indiana is a particularly dangerous state if you get busted for possession of narcotics. Whether you are guilty or innocent of the charges, you should know that simply possessing Schedule I and Schedule II drugs such as heroin, cocaine, marijuana and Oxycodone can lead to a prison sentence of up to 30 years in prison.
If you’ve been charged with drug crimes in Indiana, either possession of narcotics or distribution, then you will soon discover that the state’s drug laws can be very confusing. That’s why many people choose to hire Indiana criminal defense attorneys to represent them.
While a single blog post can never replace the advice of your drug crime defense attorney, it’s important to understand as much as you can about the penalties for possession of narcotics in Indiana. In most cases, the penalty for possession of a controlled substance depends on two factors: what the substance is, and how much was allegedly in your possession.
Indiana Drug Crimes: Felony Classes
There are a wide range of potential penalties for drug crimes, from Class A Misdemeanors to Level 3 Felony charges. Not only do different drugs carry different penalties, but there are a number of mitigating factors that could lead to more serious charges. For instance, when arrested for the possession of less than 30 grams of marijuana, most suspects will face a Class A Misdemeanor. While a misdemeanor is less serious than a felony, it still carries expensive fines and jail time.
However, possession of Schedule I and II narcotics can carry much more severe penalties, and simple drug possession charges often start with a Level 6 felony. If you have previous drug convictions on your record, were arrested within 1,000 feet of a school, or are suspected of dealing drugs, then your charges could be increased to a much more serious felony.
- Class A Misdemeanors: these crimes can lead to up to one year of jail time and a fine of $5,000
- Level 6 Felony: up to two years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
- Level 5 Felony: one to six years in prison a fine of no more than $10,000
- Level 4 Felony: two to 12 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
- Level 3 Felony: three to 16 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
- Level 2 Felony: 10 to 30 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000
You’ve Been Arrested for Drug Crimes… Now What?
Indiana drug crime laws and their penalties are found under Indiana Code 35-48-4. However, it’s important to remember that your exact charges will depend heavily on the circumstances of the arrest. The type of drug, the amount, criminal history, and other factors can all affect the charges you face. After being charged with a felony, the potential consequences can be terrifying. That’s why it’s important to remember that you really are innocent until proven guilty.
That being said, anyone charged with possession of narcotics in Indiana is facing very dangerous, life-changing consequences. Indiana courts take these charges very seriously, and suspects often face many years in prison if they are found guilty. If you or someone you care about has been arrested for drug crimes, you may benefit from a criminal defense attorney who can represent you against Indiana’s legal system.
Instead of struggling to sort through Indiana drug crime laws by yourself, contact criminal defense attorneys to protect your rights. Don’t put your entire future at risk by going it alone.
When you are going through a divorce, it m
Work related injuries affect your income
Work related injury or illness can throw your life and plans out of gear. When you are prevented from getting to work because of an accident or injury, both your income and future earning capacity are threatened. You may lose a significant